Our Book Clubs

Hello Reader,

La Playa Books currently offers two virtual book clubs, moderated and organized by our new book buyer, Mimi Hannan.  One meets the first Monday of the month, in the evening (Wine & Conversation Book Club).  The other meets the first Wednesday of the month in the mid-morning (New & Noteworthy Book Club).  To find out more and join our bookclub mailing list, plase email Mimi directly at mimi at laplayabooks dot com (or click on the link)

Our Wine & Conversation Book Club meets the first Monday of the month on Zoom.

Our December meeting will be held Monday, December 5th at 6pm. The January meeting will be held Monday, January 2nd at 6pm.

Please see your book club email before the meeting date for details on how to join in via Zoom.

Our New & Noteworthy Book Club meets the first Wednesday of the month on Zoom.

Our October meeting will be held Wednesday, December 7th at 11am.

Please see your book club email before the meeting date for details on how to join in via Zoom. For discussion August 3rd:

 

This title now available in the store for 20% off to book club members.

 

If you're interested in titles our book clubs have read over the past few years, please visit our special Book Club Reading List for a list of titles. For more information, please email us at info@laplayabooks.com

Staff Pick Badge
The Boys By Katie Hafner Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781954118058
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Spiegel & Grau - July 26th, 2022

"Hafner's taut and utterly delightful debut is a novel of multitudes.... What a wonder of storytelling." --Weike Wang, New York Times
New York Times Editors' Pick Most Anticipated GMA Summer Reads


Damnation Spring By Ash Davidson Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781982144418
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - May 3rd, 2022

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

Named a Best Book of 2021 by Newsweek, the San Francisco Chronicle, The Washington Post, and the Los Angeles Times

“A glorious book—an assured novel that’s gorgeously told.” —The New York Times Book Review
“An incredibly moving epic about an unforgettable fa


Come Fly The World: The Jet-Age Story of the Women of Pan Am By Julia Cooke Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358699187
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mariner Books - April 26th, 2022

Glamour, danger, liberation: in a Mad Men era of commercial flight, Pan Am World Airways attracted the kind of young woman who wanted out, and wanted up

Required to have a college degree, speak two languages, and possess the political savvy of a Foreign Service officer, a jet-age stewardess serving on iconic Pan Am between 1966 and 1975 also had to be between 5&p


Counterfeit: A Novel By Kirstin Chen Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063119543
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow - June 7th, 2022

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A REESE'S BOOK CLUB PICK


Horse: A Novel By Geraldine Brooks Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399562969
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking - June 14th, 2022

“Brooks’ chronological and cross-disciplinary leaps are thrilling.” —The New York Times Book Review

Horse isn’t just an animal story—it’s a moving narrative about race and art.” —TIME


Trust By Hernan Diaz Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593420317
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - May 3rd, 2022

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2022 BOOKER PRIZE

Named ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS of 20222 by The Washington Post

Named one of the BEST BOOKS OF 2022 by The New Yorker, Vogue, Time, NPR, Oprah Daily, Esquire, BookPage, and more


Fencing with the King: A Novel By Diana Abu-Jaber Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780393867718
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - March 15th, 2022

One of The Millions' Most Anticipated Books of the Month

A mesmerizing breakthrough novel of family myths and inheritances by the award-winning author of Crescent.


The Swimmers: A novel By Julie Otsuka Cover Image
$23.00
ISBN: 9780593321331
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf - February 22nd, 2022

NATIONAL BEST SELLER • From the best-selling, award-winning author of The Buddha in the Attic and When the Emperor Was Divine comes a novel about what happens to a group of obsessed recreational swimmers when a crack appears at the bottom of their local pool.


Rock Me on the Water: 1974--the Year Los Angeles Transformed Movies, Music, Television and Politics By Ronald Brownstein Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062899224
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Paperbacks - March 22nd, 2022

"An electric story filled with gripping personalities, compelling backstage histories, and a clear message for the divided America of today: the forces that fear change can win for a time, but in America the future always gets the last word. A lyrical recreation of a magical moment.”—Jake Tapper


Sparks Like Stars: A Novel By Nadia Hashimi Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063008298
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - February 8th, 2022

“Suspenseful…emotionally compelling. I found myself eagerly following in a way I hadn’t remembered for a long time, impatient for the next twist and turn of the story."NPR


Legends of the North Cascades By Jonathan Evison Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781643752488
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Books - January 11th, 2022

“A beautifully rendered and cinematic portrait of a place and its evolution through time . . .


The Violin Conspiracy: A Novel By Brendan Slocumb Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593315415
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor - February 1st, 2022

GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK! • Ray McMillian is a Black classical musician on the rise—undeterred by the pressure and prejudice of the classical music worldwhen a shocking theft sends him on a desperate quest to recover his great-great-grandfather’s heirloom violin on the eve of the most prestigious musical competition in the world.


The Last Story of Mina Lee By Nancy Jooyoun Kim Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780778388036
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Park Row - December 28th, 2021

A REESE'S BOOK CLUB PICK

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Riveting and unconventional, The Last Story of Mina Lee traces the far-reaching consequences of secrets in the lives of a Korean immigrant mother and her daughter


A Certain Hunger By Chelsea G. Summers Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781951213435
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Unnamed Press - October 18th, 2021

One of Vanity Fair's Books That Will Get You Through This Winter
"One of the most uniquely fun and campily gory books in my recent memory... A Certain Hunger has the voice of a hard-boiled detective novel, as if metaphor-happy Raymond Chandler handed the reins over to the sexed-up femme fatale and really let her fly. --The New York Times


Fight Night By Miriam Toews Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781635578171
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - October 5th, 2021

"Move over, Scout Finch! There’s a new contender for feistiest girl in fiction, and her name is Swiv." -USA Today, "Best Books of the Year"

"Toews is a master of dialogue." -New York Times Book Review, Editors' Choice

"A revelation." -Richard Russo


Missionaries: A Novel By Phil Klay Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781984880673
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - October 5th, 2021

One of President Obama's Favorite Books of the Year | A New York Times Notable Book | One of the Wall Street Journal Ten Best Books of the Year

"Missionaries is a courageous book: It doesn’t shy away, as so much fiction does, from the real world.” —Juan Gabriel Vásquez, The New York Times Book Review


Harlem Shuffle: A Novel By Colson Whitehead Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780385545136
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday - September 14th, 2021

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER From the two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Underground Railroad and The Nickel Boys, this gloriously entertaining novel is  “fast-paced, keen-eyed and very funny ... about race, power and the history of Harlem all disguised as a thrill-ride crime novel" (San Francisco Chronicle).


The Cold Millions: A Novel By Jess Walter Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780062868091
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - October 5th, 2021

“One of the most captivating novels of the year.” – Washington Post 

NATIONAL BESTSELLER


Transcendent Kingdom: A novel By Yaa Gyasi Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781984899767
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - July 6th, 2021

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • Yaa Gyasi's stunning follow-up to her acclaimed novel Homegoing is "a book of blazing brilliance" (The Washington Post)—a powerful, raw, intimate, deeply layered novel about a Ghanaian family in Alabama.

A TODAY SHOW #ReadWithJenna BOOK CLUB PICK! • Finalist for the WOMEN'S PRIZE


The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina: A Novel By Zoraida Córdova Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982102555
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - July 5th, 2022

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

Perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman, Isabel Allende, and Sarah Addison Allen, a family searches for the truth hidden in their past in this “expertly woven tale of family power, threaded with as much mystery as magic” (V.E. Schwab, #1 New York Times bestselling author).

The Montoyas are used to a life without explanations.


Stranger in the Shogun's City: A Japanese Woman and Her World By Amy Stanley Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781501188534
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - July 6th, 2021

*Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in Biography*
*Winner of the 2020 National Book Critics Circle Award*
*Winner of the PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography*

A “captivating” (The Washington Post) work of history that explores the life of an unconventional woman during the first half of the 19th century in Edo—the city that w


If I Survive You By Jonathan Escoffery Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374605988
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: MCD - September 6th, 2022

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2022 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR FICTION. NATIONAL BESTSELLER. ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW'S 100 NOTABLE BOOKS OF 2022 AND ONE OF TIME'S 100 MUST READ BOOKS OF 2022.


We Are the Brennans: A Novel By Tracey Lange Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250796226
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Celadon Books - August 3rd, 2021

**INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER**

In the vein of Mary Beth Keane’s Ask Again, Yes and Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney's The Nest,
Tracey Lange’s We Are the Brennans explores the staying power of shame—and the redemptive power of love—in an Irish Catholic family torn apart by secrets.