Our Book Clubs

Hello Reader,

La Playa Books currently offers a virtual book club, moderated and organized by our new book buyer, Mimi Hannan.  We meet the first Monday of the month, in the evening. 

To find out more and join our book club mailing list, please email Mimi directly at mimi at laplayabooks dot com (or click on the link)

Our Wine & Conversation Book Club meets the first Monday of the month on Zoom.

Our next meeting will be held in the new year on Monday, January 8th at 6pm.

Please see your book club email before the meeting date for details on how to join in via Zoom.

 

The title for the upcoming meetings are now available in the store for 20% off to book club members.

 

If you're interested in titles our book clubs have read over the past few years, please visit our special Book Club Reading List for a list of titles. For more information, please email us at info@laplayabooks.com

Wine People By Michelle Wildgen Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781958506028
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Zibby Books - August 1st, 2023

A Time Magazine "25 New Books You Need to Read This Summer"

"A riveting, behind-the-scenes portrait of a high-drama industry, from the chateau to the corner office...pour a glass and dive in."--Oprah Daily

An intoxicating escape into the cutthroat world of wine and the complicated terrain of women's friendship.


What You Are Looking for Is in the Library By Michiko Aoyama Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9781335005625
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hanover Square Press - September 5th, 2023

A TIME BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR

A WASHINGTON POST BEST FEEL GOOD BOOK OF 2023

For fans of Before the Coffee Gets Cold, a charming, internationally bestselling Japanese novel about how the perfect book recommendation can change a readers' life.


Girlfriend on Mars: A Novel By Deborah Willis Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780393285918
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - June 13th, 2023

Longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize • One of Scientific American's Best Staff Reads of 2023

A funny, poignant, and page-turning debut novel that skewers billionaire-funded space travel in a love story of interplanetary proportions.


Counterfeit: A Novel By Kirstin Chen Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063119550
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - June 13th, 2023

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A REESE'S BOOK CLUB PICK


Made in China: A Memoir of Love and Labor By Anna Qu Cover Image
By Anna Qu
$16.95
ISBN: 9781646221523
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Catapult - August 2nd, 2022

Editors’ Choice, The New York Times Book Review
 
“The immigrant child longs to be understood and unload her truths, while simultaneously being tasked with preserving her parents’ humanity. . . Qu. . . honor[s] these complexities.” —Chanel Miller, The New York Times Book Review
 


Demon Copperhead: A Novel By Barbara Kingsolver Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9780063251922
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper - October 18th, 2022

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE WINNER OF THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION


Damnation Spring By Ash Davidson Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781982144418
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner - May 3rd, 2022

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

Named a Best Book of 2021 by Newsweek, the San Francisco Chronicle, The Washington Post, and the Los Angeles Times

“A glorious book—an assured novel that’s gorgeously told.” —The New York Times Book Review
“An incredibly moving epic about an unforgettable fa


Come Fly The World: The Jet-Age Story of the Women of Pan Am By Julia Cooke Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358699187
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mariner Books - April 26th, 2022

Glamour, danger, liberation: in a Mad Men era of commercial flight, Pan Am World Airways attracted the kind of young woman who wanted out, and wanted up

Required to have a college degree, speak two languages, and possess the political savvy of a Foreign Service officer, a jet-age stewardess serving on iconic Pan Am between 1966 and 1975 also had to be between 5&p


Rock Me on the Water: 1974--the Year Los Angeles Transformed Movies, Music, Television and Politics By Ronald Brownstein Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062899224
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Paperbacks - March 22nd, 2022

"An electric story filled with gripping personalities, compelling backstage histories, and a clear message for the divided America of today: the forces that fear change can win for a time, but in America the future always gets the last word. A lyrical recreation of a magical moment.”—Jake Tapper


Sparks Like Stars: A Novel By Nadia Hashimi Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063008298
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - February 8th, 2022

“Suspenseful…emotionally compelling. I found myself eagerly following in a way I hadn’t remembered for a long time, impatient for the next twist and turn of the story."NPR


Legends of the North Cascades By Jonathan Evison Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781643752488
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Books - January 11th, 2022

“A beautifully rendered and cinematic portrait of a place and its evolution through time . . .


The Last Story of Mina Lee: A Reese's Book Club Pick By Nancy Jooyoun Kim Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780778388036
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Park Row - December 28th, 2021

A REESE'S BOOK CLUB PICK

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Riveting and unconventional, The Last Story of Mina Lee traces the far-reaching consequences of secrets in the lives of a Korean immigrant mother and her daughter


A Certain Hunger By Chelsea G. Summers Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781951213435
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Unnamed Press - October 18th, 2021

One of Vanity Fair's Books That Will Get You Through This Winter
"One of the most uniquely fun and campily gory books in my recent memory... A Certain Hunger has the voice of a hard-boiled detective novel, as if metaphor-happy Raymond Chandler handed the reins over to the sexed-up femme fatale and really let her fly. --The New York Times


Missionaries: A Novel By Phil Klay Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781984880673
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - October 5th, 2021

One of President Obama's Favorite Books of the Year | A New York Times Notable Book | One of the Wall Street Journal Ten Best Books of the Year

"Missionaries is a courageous book: It doesn’t shy away, as so much fiction does, from the real world.” —Juan Gabriel Vásquez, The New York Times Book Review


The Cold Millions: A Novel By Jess Walter Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780062868091
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - October 5th, 2021

“One of the most captivating novels of the year.” – Washington Post 

NATIONAL BESTSELLER A Library Reads Pick An Indie Next Pick


Transcendent Kingdom: A novel By Yaa Gyasi Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781984899767
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - July 6th, 2021

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • Yaa Gyasi's stunning follow-up to her acclaimed novel Homegoing is "a book of blazing brilliance" (The Washington Post)—a powerful, raw, intimate, deeply layered novel about a Ghanaian family in Alabama.

A TODAY SHOW #ReadWithJenna BOOK CLUB PICK! • Finalist for the WOMEN'S PRIZE


The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina: A Novel By Zoraida Córdova Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982102555
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - July 5th, 2022

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

Perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman, Isabel Allende, and Sarah Addison Allen, a family searches for the truth hidden in their past in this “expertly woven tale of family power, threaded with as much mystery as magic” (V.E. Schwab, #1 New York Times bestselling author).

The Montoyas are used to a life without explanations.


Stranger in the Shogun's City: A Japanese Woman and Her World By Amy Stanley Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781501188534
Availability: Backordered- Could take 2-4 weeks
Published: Scribner - July 6th, 2021

*Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in Biography*
*Winner of the 2020 National Book Critics Circle Award*
*Winner of the PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography*

A “captivating” (The Washington Post) work of history that explores the life of an unconventional woman during the first half of the 19th century in Edo—the city that w