Wine & Conversation Book Club

Monday, September 5, 2022 - 6:00pm
Monday, October 3, 2022 - 6:00pm
Monday, November 7, 2022 - 6:00pm

Our Wine & Conversation Book Club meets the first Monday of the month on Zoom at 6 pm.

To find out more and join our bookclub mailing list, plase email Mimi directly at mimi at laplayabooks dot com (or click on the link)

Please see your book club email before the meeting date for details on how to join in via Zoom.

Below is a list of past Wine & Conversation book club books.

 

Event address: 
Online Zoom
Books: 
The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina: A Novel By Zoraida Córdova Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982102555
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - July 5th, 2022

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

Perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman, Isabel Allende, and Sarah Addison Allen, a family searches for the truth hidden in their past in this “expertly woven tale of family power, threaded with as much mystery as magic” (V.E. Schwab, #1 New York Times bestselling author).

The Montoyas are used to a life without explanations.


Come Fly The World: The Jet-Age Story of the Women of Pan Am By Julia Cooke Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358699187
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mariner Books - April 26th, 2022

Glamour, danger, liberation: in a Mad Men era of commercial flight, Pan Am World Airways attracted the kind of young woman who wanted out, and wanted up

Required to have a college degree, speak two languages, and possess the political savvy of a Foreign Service officer, a jet-age stewardess serving on iconic Pan Am between 1966 and 1975 also had to be between 5&p


Damnation Spring By Ash Davidson Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781982144418
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - May 3rd, 2022

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

Named a Best Book of 2021 by Newsweek, the San Francisco Chronicle, The Washington Post, and the Los Angeles Times

“A glorious book—an assured novel that’s gorgeously told.” —The New York Times Book Review
“An incredibly moving epic about an unforgettable fa


Rock Me on the Water: 1974--the Year Los Angeles Transformed Movies, Music, Television and Politics By Ronald Brownstein Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062899224
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Paperbacks - March 22nd, 2022

"An electric story filled with gripping personalities, compelling backstage histories, and a clear message for the divided America of today: the forces that fear change can win for a time, but in America the future always gets the last word. A lyrical recreation of a magical moment.”—Jake Tapper


Sparks Like Stars: A Novel By Nadia Hashimi Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063008298
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - February 8th, 2022

“Suspenseful…emotionally compelling. I found myself eagerly following in a way I hadn’t remembered for a long time, impatient for the next twist and turn of the story."NPR


The Last Story of Mina Lee By Nancy Jooyoun Kim Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780778388036
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Park Row - December 28th, 2021

A REESE'S BOOK CLUB PICK

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Riveting and unconventional, The Last Story of Mina Lee traces the far-reaching consequences of secrets in the lives of a Korean immigrant mother and her daughter


A Certain Hunger By Chelsea G. Summers Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781951213435
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Unnamed Press - October 18th, 2021

One of Vanity Fair's Books That Will Get You Through This Winter
"One of the most uniquely fun and campily gory books in my recent memory... A Certain Hunger has the voice of a hard-boiled detective novel, as if metaphor-happy Raymond Chandler handed the reins over to the sexed-up femme fatale and really let her fly. --The New York Times


Missionaries: A Novel By Phil Klay Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781984880673
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - October 5th, 2021

One of President Obama's Favorite Books of the Year | A New York Times Notable Book | One of the Wall Street Journal Ten Best Books of the Year

"Missionaries is a courageous book: It doesn’t shy away, as so much fiction does, from the real world.” —Juan Gabriel Vásquez, The New York Times Book Review


The Cold Millions: A Novel By Jess Walter Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780062868091
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - October 5th, 2021

“One of the most captivating novels of the year.” – Washington Post 

NATIONAL BESTSELLER


Transcendent Kingdom: A novel By Yaa Gyasi Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781984899767
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - July 6th, 2021

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • Yaa Gyasi's stunning follow-up to her acclaimed novel Homegoing is "a book of blazing brilliance" (The Washington Post)—a powerful, raw, intimate, deeply layered novel about a Ghanaian family in Alabama.

A TODAY SHOW #ReadWithJenna BOOK CLUB PICK! • Finalist for the WOMEN'S PRIZE


Stranger in the Shogun's City: A Japanese Woman and Her World By Amy Stanley Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781501188534
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - July 6th, 2021

*Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in Biography*
*Winner of the 2020 National Book Critics Circle Award*
*Winner of the PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography*

A “captivating” (The Washington Post) work of history that explores the life of an unconventional woman during the first half of the 19th century in Edo—the city that w


Owls of the Eastern Ice: A Quest to Find and Save the World's Largest Owl By Jonathan Slaght Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250798718
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador - June 1st, 2021

A New York Times Notable Book of 2020
Longlisted for the National Book Award
Winner of the PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award and the Minnesota Book Award for General Nonfiction
A Finalist for the Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year Award
Winner of the Peace Corps Worldwide Special Book Award


American Wolf: A True Story of Survival and Obsession in the West By Nate Blakeslee Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781101902806
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown - July 31st, 2018

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The enthralling true story of the rise and reign of O-Six, the celebrated Yellowstone wolf, and the people who loved or feared her.
 


Sharks in the Time of Saviors: A Novel By Kawai Strong Washburn Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250787316
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - March 2nd, 2021

WINNER OF THE 2020 PEN/HEMINGWAY AWARD FOR DEBUT NOVEL.