Storytime

Saturday, August 20, 2022 - 11:00am
Saturday, August 27, 2022 - 11:00am
Saturday, September 3, 2022 - 11:00am

Every week our bookseller, Marianne Reiner, reads an exciting story to kids of all ages right in our store. Join us at 11 am! Check our Instagram feed for storytime updates. See our list below of great picture books from previous story times.

Event address: 
1026 Rosecrans St
San Diego, CA 92106-3019
Books: 
Love in the Library By Maggie Tokuda-Hall, Yas Imamura (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Maggie Tokuda-Hall, Yas Imamura (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781536204308
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - February 8th, 2022

Set in an incarceration camp where the United States cruelly detained Japanese Americans during WWII and based on true events, this moving love story finds hope in heartbreak.

To fall in love is already a gift. But to fall in love in a place like Minidoka, a place built to make people feel like they weren’t human—that was miraculous.


I'm Not Scared, You're Scared By Seth Meyers, Rob Sayegh, Jr. (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Seth Meyers, Rob Sayegh, Jr. (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593352373
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flamingo Books - March 15th, 2022

From the incomparable host of “Late Night with Seth Meyers” comes a hilarious new picture book.


The Blur By Minh Lê, Dan Santat (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Minh Lê, Dan Santat (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593377468
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - May 3rd, 2022

Meet a child with superhero-like abilities . . . and the parents who are racing to keep up with her in this sweetly funny picture book about the blur of childhood, from the award-winning creators of Drawn Together. A perfect gift to celebrate all of our special milestones--from graduations to birthdays and beyond!


I Sang You Down from the Stars By Tasha Spillett-Sumner, Michaela Goade (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316493161
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 6th, 2021

New York Times bestseller!

A Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Book

This unique baby book sings with Native cultural detail, while striking a universal chord in its celebration of the blossoming of love that comes with expecting and welcoming a new baby--with art by New York Times bestselling illustrator and Caldecott Medalist Michaela


Oona and the Shark By Kelly DiPucchio, Raissa Figueroa (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kelly DiPucchio, Raissa Figueroa (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063071421
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - March 22nd, 2022

The big sea’s littlest mischief-maker, Oona, is back in another delightful tale from New York Times bestselling author Kelly DiPucchio and Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award winner Raissa Figueroa.


Something's Wrong!: A Bear, a Hare, and Some Underwear By Jory John, Erin Kraan (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jory John, Erin Kraan (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780374313883
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - March 23rd, 2021

A hilarious picture book from #1 New York Times bestselling author Jory John, paired with new illustrator Erin Kraan, about a bear whose friends help him make it through a bad day!


Make Way for Animals!: A World of Wildlife Crossings By Meeg Pincus, Bao Luu (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Meeg Pincus, Bao Luu (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781541589384
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Millbrook Press (Tm) - April 5th, 2022

Around the world, city highways and country roads have cut through natural spaces. Wild animals are blocked from the resources they need to survive, or must make dangerous crossings across busy roads to get to them. Fortunately, solving this problem has inspired some creative solutions Take a tour of wildlife crossings across the globe, from grassy badger bridges to underpasses for elephants.


Memory Jars By Vera Brosgol Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250314871
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Roaring Brook Press - May 25th, 2021

A young girl finds a clever way to keep her favorite things--and people--close to her forever in Memory Jars, from Caldecott Honoree Vera Brosgol.


Crunch the Shy Dinosaur By Cirocco Dunlap, Greg Pizzoli (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Cirocco Dunlap, Greg Pizzoli (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399550560
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Studio - May 29th, 2018

From Cirocco Dunlap (This Book Will Not Be Fun) and Theodor Seuss Geisel Award winner Greg Pizzoli (The Watermelon Seed) comes a charming, giggly read-aloud that illustrates the particular art of making a friend!


The Year We Learned to Fly By Jacqueline Woodson, Rafael López (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jacqueline Woodson, Rafael López (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399545535
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - January 4th, 2022

Jacqueline Woodson and Rafael López's highly anticipated companion to their #1 New York Times bestseller The Day You Begin illuminates the power in each of us to face challenges with confidence.


Eyes That Speak to the Stars By Joanna Ho, Dung Ho (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Joanna Ho, Dung Ho (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063057753
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - February 15th, 2022

New York Times bestselling team Joanna Ho and Dung Ho present Eyes That Speak to the Stars, companion to the acclaimed Eyes That Kiss in the Corners.

“A brilliant treatise to love of self and heritage.” —School Library Journal (starred review)


Room for Everyone By Naaz Khan, Mercè López (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Naaz Khan, Mercè López (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534431393
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - November 9th, 2021

A young boy on a crowded bus discovers that, after some wiggles and giggles, there’s room for everyone in this lighthearted rhyming picture book set in Zanzibar.

The dala dala rumbles and roars as Musa and Dada drive off to the shore—but the bus stops for multiple detours: “Do you need a ride? It’s hotter than peppers out there in the sun!


Grandad's Camper By Harry Woodgate Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781499811933
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: little bee books - April 6th, 2021

A Stonewall Honor Book

Best Illustrated Book -- Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2022

"As warm and friendly as a kind grandparent." Kirkus Reviews, STARRED REVIEW

"For the hope for new adventures, and the glimpse of intergenerational kindness and understanding, this lovely book should be on every shelf."


Playing at the Border: A Story of Yo-Yo Ma By Joanna Ho, Teresa Martinez (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Joanna Ho, Teresa Martinez (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062994547
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - September 28th, 2021

The New York Times bestselling author of Eyes That Kiss in the Corners, Joanna Ho, delivers a poignant picture book biography about the musician Yo-Yo Ma, immigration, and using music to build bridges.

Winner of the Ezra Jack Keats Award Honor * Featured in Book Riot’s Must Read September 2021 List


The Little Ghost Who Was a Quilt By Riel Nason, Byron Eggenschwiler (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Riel Nason, Byron Eggenschwiler (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780735264472
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tundra Books - September 1st, 2020

When you're a quilt instead of a sheet, being a ghost is hard! An adorable picture book for fans of Stumpkin and How to Make Friends with a Ghost.

Ghosts are supposed to be sheets, light as air and able to whirl and twirl and float and soar. But the little ghost who is a quilt can't whirl or twirl at all, and when he flies, he gets very hot.